Kelong Acheh

After one night of stay in Kelong Acheh, I am back in Singapore. Kelong is actually a form of offshore platform built predominantly with wood. In another word, it is a resort in the middle of the sea.

My dad and his college booked a van to pick up at two location. One was at my house and the other location was at Kranji. The journey there was freaking long. It’s around 2+ hours. I slept through the journey. When we arrived in Malaysia, the driver brought us to a place for breakfast. I had Mee Rebus for my breakfast. It taste great but the portion was quite small. After that, we proceed on with our journey.

When we were about to reach the jetty, I saw lots of buffelo as well as lots of shit on the road. Damn dirty. Imagine you drove there, you are gonna wash your car wheel when you get back home. Anyway, before reaching the kelong, we had to take a boat.

When I first step into the kelong, I don’t feel safe because it’s all made of wood. And when the current is too strong, the kelong starts to shake a bit. My dad started fishing after we settle down. Sun in the after was damn hot so I stayed in the shade with my mum watching my dad fish. My sis went to join my dad when she got bored. But I am still sitting down there enjoying the shade. Fall a sleep on the chair while watching them fish. So tired. I joined them in the evening when it’s not so hot. Fishing needs lots of patient. The fishes there were too smart to kena hooked. I did not caught any but my sis caught 2 small ones. There’s one guy who caught a buffer fish. That was the first time I saw buffer fish. The teeth of the buffer fish looks exactly like human’s teeth. It looks ugly. Ha Ha. It bloated up like a ball to protect itself from being harmed.

It’s dinner time! Actually, they provide us with a lot of meal. I felt that I had been eating continuously the whole day. When we just reached the kelong, we had one meal. Followed by tea break, then dinner and lastly dessert as supper. I was quie disappointed with the food. It’s really quite awful. The Asam fish taste so plain so watery. Bad. Not only that, most of their food taste plain.

Oh ya, around 3+, there’s a boat that brought us to a beach. Guess what, the beach that we were brought to look so desserted and small. No where to go so we decided to go back to the kelong. Once we go, we had to stay there till 5pm. It’s so hot and there’s nothing for us to do over there so going back was the best choice. My dad thought that it’s another beach that they went previously with coconut to drink, with volley ball to play with but sad to say it’s not. Kena cheated.

Night time was damn freaking cold. It was raining cats and dogs. The wind was so strong that even a cup can be blown off. No kidding. This period of time was really bored because we can’t do anything. Wait till the rain stopped, my dad continue fishing. He still think that there’s chance to hooked a big fish up but I guess he’s disappointed. He’s only there to feed those hungry fishes.

I did not bath yesterday because the water was too cold. If I were to bath, everyone will wake up because I am too noisy. So dirty so sticky but I still fell a sleep with my smelly and sticky body. My sis was as dirty as me. Ha Ha.

When we lay down on the bed, we couldn’t stop laughing because people there snore extremely loud. One of them snore very randomly. Suddenly, he snore damn loud and just for once. I know we are bad but just couldn’t stop. I fall a sleep after a while. Super duper tired.

Woke up early in the morning. Morning was very very cold. The wind kept blowing and blowing and followed by the rain. We had Nasi Lemak for our breakfast. The chilli was nice but not the rice. There’s only egg for my Nasi Lemak. It’s kind of pathetic. After breakfast, we played majong with daddy. I wrapped myself with blanket while playing else I will be shivering all the way.

We left that place at 11am. Took the boat back to the jetty and waited for the driver to come and fetch us. He was late by half an hour. Next, we proceed to another place for seafood. The seafood restuarant shouldn’t be named after seafood restuarant because they don’t even have crab and sotong. Lucky they have prawns else totally got no seafood.

After meal, here comes our long journey back to Johor Bahru. I was wondering how the driver drive for such a long hour. Pei fu.

*Fast forward* Back to my house. First thing I did was to bath. Cannot stand myself being so smelly. Then after that out for dinner.

This trip is rather a good experience for us because I had never been to such a place. Next time, my dad will bring us to another Kelong with beautiful beach, with coconut for us to drink and volley ball for us to play.

I am so tired now. I am gonna end here. Goodnight.

21032009057

21032009059

21032009062

21032009064

21032009068

cimg2546

cimg2549

cimg2599

cimg2562

cimg2564

cimg2578

cimg2573

cimg2575

cimg2576

cimg2581

cimg2595

cimg2606

cimg2607

cimg2615

cimg2616

cimg2619

cimg2627

cimg2628

cimg2630

cimg2631

2 thoughts on “Kelong Acheh

Leave a Reply

